RPF-Inkotanyi votes for executive committees at village, cell level

RPF members line up to cast votes yesterday. / Michel Nkurunziza

Members of Rwanda Patriotic Front (RPF-Inkotanyi) convened at various sites on Saturday to vote for structures at the village and cell level. Rwanda has 2,148 cells and 14, 837 villages.

The Executive Committee is made up of the president, the vice president, secretary and four commissioners.

This follows elections for youth and women leagues at the same level last week whereby RPF cadres elected 10 representatives for youth, and seven forwomen.

Marie-Chantal Rwakazina, who is also the Kigali city mayor, was elected as chairperson of RPF-Inkotanyi in Ingenzi village and later chairperson in Bibare cell of Kimironko sector in Gasabo district.

Liberatha Kanakuze was ekected as vice chairperson while Augustin Habimana is the new secretary.

The commissioner in charge of economic affairs is Thiery Shema, Mapambano Nyiridandi for good governance commission, Anna Mugabo for social affairs commission and Jackson Rwahama for justice commission.

Speaking after the elections , Rwakazina said that she was proud of being elected as chairperson, something that will give her an opportunity to ensure president Paul Kagame’sgood leadership is emulated at grassroot level.

“RPF is the current engine of leadership and development of this country . I am proud to be elected.We commit to accelerate citizens’ development since the citizen at the village level must be at the centre of economic develpment.We wish citizens’ life to transform into better,” she said.