Preps for AMAA 2018 on

Peace Anyiam-Osigwe is a Nigerian filmmaker, and founder of AMAA. Net.

All is set for the prestigious Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) gala as it returns to Rwanda for the second time.

Dubbed AMAA 2018, this year’s event is scheduled for October 20, at the Intare Conference Arena in Gasabo District, Kigali. It is the 14 edition of the awards. The wards had earlier been scheduled for September 22, at the Radisson Blu Hotel and Convention Center.


AMAA was launched in 2005, by Nigerian filmmaker, and entertainment executive Peace Anyiam-Osigwe, as a platform to recognise excellence of professionals in the African film industry. It has been described as one of the biggest and most credible jury-based reward system for filmmakers and film professionals in the motion picture industry from Africa, and Africans in the diaspora.


Organisers unveiled the list of nominees on August 3rd, in Lagos, Nigeria.


However, no Rwandan filmmaker made it to the list of nominees in the 27 different award categories.

The Government of Rwanda, through the Rwanda Convention Bureau and Rwanda Development Board, agreed to host this year’s edition, in line with its Pan-African and Africa integration agenda.

“It remains a fact that AMAA is the longest running Pan-African awards in the whole of Africa. Similar awards in film, music, and the visual arts have come and gone. Since 2005, we have worked to keep and protect the integrity of the awards. This is why we can partner with Rwanda, a country where excellence and professionalism drive business and governance,” remarked AMAA founder Peace Anyiam-Osigwe in a press statement on the AMAA website.

Osigwe added that this year, visitors to the awards, especially Africans will not struggle to gain visas as these will be processed on arrival.

She further thanked President Paul Kagame and other African leaders that are at the forefront of easing movement of persons within the continent.

“We call upon other African countries to adopt a visa on arrival policy if we can’t remove visa completely. Our people will prosper and there will be shared prosperity when we can travel and do business and even for holidays easily within Africa,” she said.

A lawyer by training, Osigwe is credited for pioneering the screening of Nigerian (Nollywood) films at international film festivals.

Three day affair:

This year’s awards will kick off with pre-gala events on October 18, and 19, according to Anny Batamuliza, of New Dawn Associates, a local Tours and Travel agency, that is in charge of organising the event.

“We have small round table events of about 200 people (VVIPs) that will be talking about different aspects of film production, hosting different speakers from different movie industry sectors. There is also a makeup session, where top Nigerian makeup artists will be coming to Rwanda to train 40 Rwandans in the art of professional makeup. This will be done in partnership with the Workforce Development Authority (WDA).

Recently, AMAA hosted a social media training workshop in Kigali for young people in partnership with the Rwanda Convention Bureau and Ecobank, with tech resource persons drawn from Rwanda and Nigeria.

Last year, Lagos hosted the awards at the Eko Hotel Convention Center in Victoria Island.

On the choice of Intare Conference Arena for the event, Batamuliza said: “Rwanda is growing its MICE (Meetings, Incentives, Conferences and Exhibitions) sector. So we can’t afford to have only one or two prominent venues. The government of Rwanda is looking at unveiling even more conference venues and conference hubs in the future.”

Tickets are on sale at $10, $15, $25, and $500 for a corporate table. Sales points are; Nakumatt UTC and Kagugu, and Bourbon Coffee (UTC and MTN Center).

Some of the award categories

AMAA 2018 Award for Best Film

Isoken – Nigeria

Five Fingers For Marseilles – South Africa

In My Country – Nigeria

The Blessed Vost- Algeria

Cross Roads – Nigeria

Road to Sunshine – Malawi

Siembamba – South Africa

Hotel Called Memory – Nigeria

Sidechic Gang – Ghana

Lost Café – Kenneth Gyang

Tony Elumelu AMAA 2018 Award for Best Comedy

Sidechic Gang – Ghana

Banana Island Ghost – Nigeria

The Adventures Of Supermama – South Africa

Koko: The Box TV – Nigeria

AMAA 2018 Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role

Kate Henshaw- Roti

Reine Swart – Siembamba

Okawa Shaznay –In My Country

Dakore Egbuson – Isoken

Nana Ama McBrown, Lydia Forson and Sika Osei – Sidechic Gang

Mariam Phiri – The Road To Sunrise

Tunde Aladese – Lost Café

Joselyn Dumas – Potato Potahto

AMAA 2018 Award for Best First Feature Film by a Director

My Mothers Story –Flora Suya- Malawi

Ogwuetiti Obiuto – Onyeka Nwelue – Nigeria

Five Fingers for Marseilles- Michael Mathews- South Africa

Isoken – Jadesola Osiberu- Nigeria

18 Hours – Njue Kevin – Kenya

Banana Island Ghost – BB Sasore- Nigeria

The Blessed Vost – Sefia Djama – Algeria

AMAA 2018 Award for Best Director

Jade Osiberu – Isoken

Michael Mathews- Five Fingers For Marseilles

Frank Rajah Arase – In My Country

Safia Djama- The Blessed Vost

Oluseyi Siwoku – Cross Roads

Shemu Joyah- Road to Sunshine

Darrell Roodt- Siembamba

Akin Omotosho- Hotel Called Memory

Peter Kofi Sedufia – Sidechic Gang

The Lost Café – Kenneth Gyang

AMAA 2018 Award for Best Actor in a Leading Role

Vuyo Dabula – Five Fingers For Marseille

Richard Mofe Damijo – Cross Roads

Sam Dede – In My Country

Sani Bouajla – The Blessed Vost

OC Ukeje – Potato Potahto

Chris Attoh – Esohe

Oros Mampofu – Lucky Specials

Frank Donga – Hakkunde

Michael Anyiam Osigwe AMAA 2018 Award for Best Film by an African living abroad

Minister – Nigeria/Italy

Alexandra – Nigeria/USA

Low Lifes And High Hopes – Nigeria/Austria

AMAA 2018 Award for Best Diaspora Short

Torments of Love (Guadeloupe)

Baby Steps (USA)

Intercept (USA)

AMAA 2018 Award for Best Diaspora Documentary

Evolutionary Blues (USA)

Barrows: Freedom Fighter (Barbados)

Sammy Davis Jr. – I’ve Got To Be Me (USA)

Efere Ozako AMAA 2018 award for Best Short Film

Dem Dem – Senegal/Belgium
Zenith – Cameroun/USA
It Rains on Ouga – Burkina Faso
In Shadows – Kenya
Coat of Harm – Nigeria
Tikitat Soulima – Morocco
Nice, Very Nice – Algeria
Visions (Shaitan, Buruja, Brood) – Nigeria
Fallou – Senegal
Still Water Runs Deep – Nigeria/USA

AMAA 2018 Award for Best Animation

Group Photo – Nigeria
Belly Flop – South Africa
Untitled – Ghana
Crush – Nigeria

AMAA 2018 Award for Best Documentary

Bigger Than Africa – Nigeria/USA
Winnie – South Africa
Boxing Libreville – Gabon
Silas – South Africa/Kenya
When Babies Don’t Come – South Africa
Uncertain Future – Burundi
We Came In Sprint Carts – South Africa

Ousmane Sembene AMAA 2018 Award for Best Film in an African Language

Mansoor – Nigeria
Five Fingers For Marseilles – South Africa
Icheke Oku – Nigeria
Agwaetiti Obiuto – Nigeria
Nyasaland – Malawi
Tunu – Tanzania.


Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News