Team Rwanda start preps ahead of Continental Road Championships


Niyonshuti will be among Team Rwanda riders set to compete in African Championships in elite category in Kigali. (Sam Ngendahimana)


Official opening ceremony

Team Time Trial (Boys & Girls): 18.6km

Team Time Trial (juniors): 18.6km

Team Time Trial (Women Seniors): 40km

Team Time Trial (Men Seniors): 40km

Feb. 15

Individual Time Trial (Boys & Girls): 18.6km

Individual Time Trial (Boys Junior): 18,6km

Individual Time Trial (Women Senior): 40km

Individual Time Trial (Men Senior): 40km

Feb. 17

Junior race: 72km

Men U23: 84km

Feb. 18

Road Race: 168km

The national cycling team riders have intensified preparations ahead of the African Continental Road Championships slated for February 13-18 in Rwanda.

The team is undergoing intensive training at Africa Rising Cycling Centre in Musanze.

The riders who were in Cameroon for Tour d’Espoir travelled back on Monday night and immediately joined their colleagues for final preparations. They include Joseph Areruya, Samuel Mugisha, Jean Paul Rene Ukiniwabo, Didier Munyaneza, Jean Damascene Ruberwa and Samuel Hakurikirayezu.

The head coach Sterling Magnell will name the final team of riders who will compete in the African Continental Road Championships after the preparations.

The events for the continental championships in Kigali will include; time trials for both individuals and teams but the main attraction will be the road races for both men and women.

It will be the second time that Rwanda hosts the continental championships, but the first in eight years since 2010.

Rwanda already has experience in hosting high-level competitions such as Tour du Rwanda, which has earned great success over the years and is now one of the major cycling events in Africa.

The Junior Women’s Team Time Trial will compete for a distance of 18.6 km same as the Men’s Junior Team Time Trial.

The Elite Women’s Team Time Trial will cover 40km same as the Elite Men’s Team Time Trial—the race will be held from Kicukiro to Nyamata in Bugesera District.

Meanwhile, the Women Junior Road race will cover a distance of 60km and their male counterparts will do 72km. Elite Women will compete in 84km race while the Elite Men will race for 168km in Kigali City.

Last year’s African Continental Road Championships took place in Luxor, Egypt and was won by South African Willie Smit in the Men Elite category.


Women junior: Samantha Mushimiyimana, Violette Irakoze Neza

Women elite: Béathe Ingabire, Jeanne d’Arc Girubuntu, Magnifique Manizabayo and Jacqueline Tuyishimire.

Men junior: Jean Eric Habimana, Yves Nkurunziza, young brother of Joseph Areruya, Barnabé Gahemba, and Jean Claude Nzafashwanayo.

Men elite: Jean Bosco Nsengimana, Patrick Byukusenge, Jean Claude Uwizeye, Valens Ndayisenga, Adrien Niyonshuti, Joseph Areruya, Samuel Mugisha, Jean Paul René Ukiniwabo, Didier Munyaneza, Jean Damascène Ruberwa and Samuel Hakiruwizeye.