Rwanda nominated vice chair of UN Human Rights Council

Rwanda has been nominated for vice chair of the United Nations Human Rights Council, representing Africa.

The country will be represented to the council by the Rwandan ambassador to Switzerland Dr. Francois Ngarambe.

Ngarambe also serves as Rwanda's Permanent Representative to the UN, World Trade Organisation and other international bodies with headquarters in Geneva

Rwanda's nomination was approved on Wednesday in Geneva by the African group in the council comprising 13 countries representing the rest of the continent.

“Africa nominated Rwanda to serve as Vice President of the Human Rights Council. I am honoured to have just been elected in that capacity on behalf of my country. I pledge commitment to advance the cause of human rights,” Ngarambe said in a tweet.

“This nomination and election reflect the African Group's vote of confidence in Rwanda, endorsed by the Human Right Council; that confidence is recognition of Rwanda's capability and commitment to contribute to global efforts to advance the universal cause of human rights,” Ngarambe told The New Times later


Rwanda’s membership to the Human Rights Council will end on December 31, 2018.

The envoy reiterated Rwanda's commitment to ongoing efforts aimed at strengthening the Human Rights Council, making it more efficient and more effective, making it more focused on people and delivery than on bureaucracy and procedures.

“Prevention of human rights abuses and violations, building capacity to prevent and/or address human rights crises will be in the core of our contribution,” he added.

During Wednesday's vote, Slovenia was elected president of the council, while Germany, Philippines and Chile share the vice-presidency with Rwanda for a one year mandate.

The council is made up of 47 Member States, which are elected directly and individually by secret ballot by the majority of the members of the General Assembly.

The membership is based on equitable geographical distribution among African states, Asia-Pacific states, Eastern European states, Latin American and Caribbean states and Western European and other states.