Twelve teams for 2017 Gisembe memorial tourney

A total of 12 teams will compete in this year’s Gisembe memorial tournament slated to start on May 26 and run until June 4, according to the Rwanda Basketball Federation (FERWABA). 

The annual event is organised by FERWABA in partnership with league side Espoir, in memory of their former player and coach Emmanuel Ntarugera Gisembe and other Rwandans who were killed during the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi.

Since 2015, FERWABA and Espoir have organised two separate tournaments; a local and regional event.

Eight teams will compete in the men category, including reigning champions Espoir, Rwanda Energy Group (REG), Patriots, United Generation Basketball (UGB), Cercle Sportif de Kigali (CSK), 30-Plus, IPRC-South and IPRC-Kigali.

The women category will attract four teams namely; Ubumwe, IPRC-South, The Hoops Rwanda and champions APR.

Meanwhile, the tournament’s regional edition will be played on June 9-11 and it’s expected to attract teams from Uganda, DR Congo, Burundi and hosts Rwanda.