Challenge Cup brought forward

  • By Bonnie Mugabe
  • August 30, 2012
EABL’s Lemmy Mutahi (C) and Cecafa’s Nicholas Musonye (L) handing over the trophy to a Fufa official during the launch of the tournament in Kampala. The New Times/File.

THIS year’s Cecafa-Tusker Cup which carries a sponsorship package of $450,000 has been brought forward to November 24 through December 8 in Kampala,Uganda.

Initially, the tournament had been scheduled for November 27 until December 11 but after the tournament’s launch on Tuesday in Kampala, the Cecafa Secretary General Nicholas Musonye confirmed the new dates.

Sponsors East African Breweries Limited [EABL], through their flagship brand, Tusker Lager announced the countdown to the championship and a $450,000 [Rwf. 272 million] grant to the event.

The tournament will now be known as the 2012 Tusker Cecafa Challenge Cup. Lemmy Mutahi the EABL (Uganda) Marketing Director who handed the cheque Musonye, said staging of this year’s Challenge Cup for the Council of East and Central Africa Football Associations nations had a special significance.

He revealed that as sponsors they were happy to have the tournament hosted in Kampala. This year’s sponsorship shows a 5% increase compared to last year’s release.

According to Musonye, the sponsorship package will cover the teams’ accommodation and air travels among others.

A total of $60,000 will go towards prize money with the winners taking $30,000, the runners up $20.000 and $10.000 for the third placed team. 

Musonye further revealed that all matches will be broadcast live on Super Sport.

The Sponsors (EABL) confirmed their long time engagement with Cecafa and praised the regional body for organizing excellent 2010/2011tournament in Tanzania.

All matches with be broadcast “live” on SuperSport television.

The number of Cecafa countries increased recently when newly independent South Sudan was admitted.

The country took part in a Cecafa competition for the first time at the Cecafa Kagame Club Cup in Tanzania last month.

Meanwhile, five other African nations including Malawi, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Cameroon and Botswana have expressed desire to feature as guests.

Uganda are the reigning champions and the most successful of the 12 members of Cecafa having won the Senior Challenge Cup 12 times.

Rwanda has only won the title once in 1999.

Contact email: bonnie.mugabe[at]

Submit your comment

Please type the answer What is : 1 + 1