Third time unlucky

  • By Bonnie Mugabe
  • December 11, 2011
Meddi Kagere (left) celebrating his first goal with team mate Olivier Karekezi. The two Amavubi striker finished as joint tournament top scorers. Sunday Times/ B. Mugabe

Rwanda loses to Uganda in Cecafa Tusker Cup final

Rwanda  2-2 Uganda
Uganda wins 3-2 on penalties
3rd place
Sudan  1-0 Tanzania

Rwanda failed to end an 11-year Cecafa title drought as Amavubi Stars lost in the final of this year’s tournament played yesterday in Dar es salaam, Tanzania.

Amavubi lost the title 2-3 on penalties after 2-all draw after 120 minutes of play to ensure a 12th Cecafa title for the Uganda Cranes.

Sredojovic ‘Micho’ Milutin’s team opened the goal scoring through Meddie Kagere on the 50th minute off a well calculated Jean Claude Iranzi’s pass before he beat Cranes captain Andy Mwesigwa to score past goalie Abby Dhaira.

Uganda snatched an equalizer on 76th minute following a goal keeping error by goalie Jean Claude Ndoli who punched a sublime ball to Isaac Nside from Sula Matovu’s free kick and the St. George defender made no mistake from inside the box.

A minute later, Kagere scored his fifth goal of the tournament and the second for Amavubi as he picked a cross from Peter Kagabo, beat Mwesigwa and Isaac Nside before sending a left footed shot into Dhaira’s far post.

Uganda snatched the second goal courtesy of an own goal from Olivier Karekezi who headed into his own net when he tried to brush off a corner from Emmanuel Okwi. However, Somalian referee Wiish Yabarow awarded the goal to Emmanuel Okwi.

First half hamstring injuries suffered by Ismail Nshutiyamagara and Andrew Buteera affected Amavubi’s formation. They were replaced by Emery Bayisenge and Peter Kagabo respectively.

Extra time

In extra time, Rwanda came closer to getting a goal but the combination of Karekezi and Kagere could not frighten Cranes goalie Dhaira.

After 120 minutes of play, Uganda emerged the winner 3-2 on spot kicks.

Isaac Nsinde, Hamis Kiza and Andy Mwesigwa scored for Uganda as Moses Oloya and Habib Kavuma missed their chances.

Kagere and Haruna Niyonzima converted spot kicks for Rwanda while Emery Bayisenge, Eric Gasana and Albert Ngabo missed theirs.

The final was a repeat of 2009 final in which Cranes won 2-0 in Nairobi. The loss means that Rwanda will have to wait until next year to try another quest of ending now a 12-year Cecafa title drought. Cranes also beat Amavubi in the final of the 2003 tournament played in Sudan.

Amavubi took home with $20,000 for finishing second while Sudan, who had earlier beaten hosts Tanzania 1-0 for the third place battle settled for $10,000. The champions walked off $30,000 and the trophy.



Best coach: Sredojovic Milutin Micho (Rwanda)

Best goal keeper: Elmoiz Mahgoug (Sudan)

Best player: Haruna Niyonzima (Rwanda)

Best referee: Wiish Yabarow (Somalia)

Top scorer: Olivier Karekezi (Rwanda), Meddie Kagere (Rwanda) and Emmanuel Okwi (Uganda)

Submit your comment

Please type the answer What is : 3 + 4